PROCEEDINGS

A meeting of the Lancaster City Council was held in the Town Hall, Morecambe, at 12.00 p.m. on Friday, 12 May 2017, when the following Members were present:-

Robert Redfern (Mayor) Carla Brayshaw (Deputy Mayor)

Jon Barry Sam Armstrong
June Ashworth Lucy Atkinson
Stuart Bateson Alan Biddulph
Eileen Blamire Dave Brookes
Tracy Brown Abbott Bryning
Nathan Burns Susie Charles

Darren Clifford Ian Clift

Claire Cozler Sheila Denwood
Charlie Edwards Andrew Gardiner
Nigel Goodrich Mel Guilding
Tim Hamilton-Cox Janice Hanson
Colin Hartley Helen Helme

Brendan Hughes Caroline Jackson

Joan Jackson Andrew Kay

Ronnie Kershaw James Leyshon Roger Mace Terrie Metcalfe Abi Mills Rebecca Novell Jane Parkinson Margaret Pattison John Reynolds Sylvia Rogerson Elizabeth Scott Susan Sykes Malcolm Thomas Oscar Thynne **Andrew Warriner** David Whitaker Anne Whitehead Peter Williamson

Peter Yates

Phillippa Williamson

COUNCIL 12TH MAY 2017

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Brett Cooper, Rob Devey, Janet Hall, Geoff Knight, Karen Leytham, Ron Sands, Roger Sherlock, John Wild, Nicholas Wilkinson and Paul Woodruff.

2 VOTE OF THANKS

A vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress was moved by Councillor Ashworth and seconded by Councillor Bryning.

On being put to the vote, the proposition was clearly carried.

The retiring Mayor responded.

Resolved:

- (1) That the best thanks of the City Council be conveyed to the retiring Mayor, Councillor Robert Redfern for the service rendered to the City during 2016/17 and for presiding over the deliberations of the City Council during that period.
- (2) That the best thanks of the City Council be conveyed to the retiring Mayoress, Mrs Linda Redfern for the manner in which she performed the many functions in her year of office.

3 ELECTION OF MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Thomas and seconded by Councillor Hamilton-Cox that Councillor Mace be elected Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the ensuing municipal year.

On being put to the vote, the Mayor declared the proposition clearly carried.

Resolved:

That Councillor Mace be elected Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor Mace thereupon made and subscribed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office as required by Section 83(3) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended before the Chief Executive as the proper officer of the Council.

The Chair was then vacated by Councillor Redfern and taken by the Mayor.

On taking the Chair, the Mayor expressed his thanks to the meeting and presented the retiring Mayor and Mayoress with their badges.

4 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Upon the invitation of the Mayor, Councillor Edwards proposed:-

"That Councillor Bateson be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the ensuing municipal year".

COUNCIL 12TH MAY 2017

The proposition was seconded by Councillor Brayshaw.

On being put to the vote, the Mayor declared the proposition clearly carried.

Resolved:

That Councillor Bateson be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor Bateson thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as required by Section 83(3) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended before the Chief Executive as the proper officer of the Council.

5 ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor made several announcements.

He talked about the value of apprenticeships and pledged to do his utmost to encourage apprenticeships in all occupations throughout the district during his Mayoral year.

He announced that his two charities for the year would be McMillan Cancer Support and the Morecambe Branch of the Royal National Lifeboat Association.

The Mayor informed those present of the arrangements for Mayor's Sunday on 14 May 2017. A service would be held at the Priory Church, Lancaster, starting at 11.30am, which all would be welcome to attend.

Finally, the Mayor thanked all the children and young people from local schools for attending to watch the meeting.

Mayor

(The meeting finished at 12.50 p.m.)

Any queries regarding these minutes, please contact Debbie Chambers, Democratic Services - telephone (01524) 582057 or email dchambers@lancaster.gov.uk